Home to the San Francisco Seals (1931-58), the Mission Reds (1931-38) and the San Francisco Giants (1958-59), the Seals Stadium opened with great fanfare in 1931. Because two teams called it home, it was built with three dressing rooms: one for each of the home teams and one for the visitors. For a time, a live seal was kept underneath the bleachers; drunk fans frequently tried to feed it peanuts. It was home to baseball greats Joe DiMaggio, Lefty O’Doul and Ike Boone. The stadium was torn down in 1959 when Candlestick Park was completed for the Giants.
ABOUT THE SERIES:
The All that Glitters Series draws from San Francisco’s rich history using historical photos of notable locations. All images for sale in this series are original ink drawings on archival paper, matted with black matte board, ready to frame. All matted works are 9'“ x 12” (22.86cm X 30.48cm).