The Long Bridge

longbridge_notextnoborder.jpg
longbridge_notextnoborder.jpg

The Long Bridge

150.00

The pilings for the Long bridge were driven in February 1865, along what is now 4th St in Mission Bay.

The route provided access from the city proper to Potrero and Hunter’s Point. The bridge was completed 1867 and quickly became a popular spot for smelt fishing, rowing, swimming and other Sunday amusements. The halfway house with the star over the door pictured on the left was opened by G.W. Purdy and James Gallandett to sell beer and other refreshments to sightseers, and the first San Francisco Yacht Club was to its left.

ABOUT THE SERIES:

The All that Glitters Series draws from San Francisco’s rich history using historical photos of notable locations. All images for sale in this series are original ink drawings on archival paper, matted with black matte board, ready to frame. All matted works are 9'“ x 12” (22.86cm X 30.48cm).

Add To Cart